Skip to content

Jacksonville State University vs University of Mobile

Jacksonville State University is a public university in Jacksonville, AL. University of Mobile is a private university in Mobile, AL. Both admit about 78% of applicants. Students pay an average of about $14,279 a year at Jacksonville State University after aid, and about $22,382 at University of Mobile. About 56% of students graduate at University of Mobile, compared with 53% at Jacksonville State University. Ten years after enrolling, Jacksonville State University alumni earn a median of about $45,235, against $43,611 for University of Mobile.

See which of these two fits you, and what each would actually cost you.

Start the free quiz

Jacksonville State University

Jacksonville, AL · Public

University of Mobile

Mobile, AL · Private
At a glance
Type
Public
Private
Location
Jacksonville, AL
Mobile, AL
Setting
Suburban
Rural
Undergraduates
7,036
1,307
Acceptance rate
78%
78%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.4–3.9
3.34–3.84
SAT (middle 50%)
1000–1290
1010–1160
ACT (middle 50%)
17–24
22–28
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$14,279
$22,382
Full cost / yr
$24,257
$41,115
In-state tuition
$12,894
$26,910
Out-of-state tuition
$23,334
$26,910
Application fee
$35
$25
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$12,472
$17,550
$30k - $48k
$12,622
$21,133
$48k - $75k
$15,343
$21,633
$75k - $110k
$17,480
$24,766
Over $110k
$18,183
$27,447
Outcomes
Graduation rate
53%
56%
Freshman retention
65%
74%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$40,158
$37,411
Median earnings (10 yr)
$45,235
$43,611
Median debt at graduation
$22,189
$26,500
Student body
Pell grant recipients
43%
26%
First-generation students
36%
32%
International students
4%
2%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Jacksonville State University or University of Mobile harder to get into?
They are about equally selective: both admit around 78% of applicants. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Jacksonville State University or University of Mobile?
Jacksonville State University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $14,279 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $22,382 at University of Mobile. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Jacksonville State University and University of Mobile?
Before aid, Jacksonville State University costs about $24,257 a year and University of Mobile about $41,115. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Jacksonville State University or University of Mobile?
Jacksonville State University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $12,472 there, against about $17,550 at University of Mobile. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Jacksonville State University or University of Mobile?
Jacksonville State University is the larger of the two, with about 7,036 undergraduates against 1,307 at University of Mobile.
Does Jacksonville State University or University of Mobile have a better graduation rate?
University of Mobile has the higher graduation rate, at about 56% against 53% at Jacksonville State University.
Do graduates of Jacksonville State University or University of Mobile earn more?
Jacksonville State University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $45,235 ten years after enrolling, against about $43,611 for University of Mobile. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Jacksonville State University and University of Mobile require SAT or ACT scores?
Jacksonville State University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. University of Mobile is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Jacksonville State University and University of Mobile look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1000–1290 at Jacksonville State University and 1010–1160 at University of Mobile. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school