Skip to content

Louisiana Tech University vs Nicholls State University

Louisiana Tech University is a public university in Ruston, LA. Nicholls State University is a public university in Thibodaux, LA. Louisiana Tech University admits about 86% of applicants and Nicholls State University about 91%, making Louisiana Tech University the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $11,864 a year at Louisiana Tech University after aid, and about $12,947 at Nicholls State University. About 61% of students graduate at Louisiana Tech University, compared with 54% at Nicholls State University. Ten years after enrolling, Louisiana Tech University alumni earn a median of about $52,279, against $45,454 for Nicholls State University.

See which of these two fits you, and what each would actually cost you.

Start the free quiz

Louisiana Tech University

Ruston, LA · Public

Nicholls State University

Thibodaux, LA · Public
At a glance
Type
Public
Public
Location
Ruston, LA
Thibodaux, LA
Setting
Suburban
Urban
Undergraduates
8,312
4,737
Acceptance rate
86%
91%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.39–3.89
3.2–3.7
SAT (middle 50%)
1100–1310
934–1196
ACT (middle 50%)
21–27
19–24
Test policy
Considered
Considered
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$11,864
$12,947
Full cost / yr
$24,280
$23,481
In-state tuition
$10,125
$8,149
Out-of-state tuition
$16,866
$9,242
Application fee
$20
$20
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$7,676
$10,714
$30k - $48k
$8,619
$10,527
$48k - $75k
$11,146
$12,139
$75k - $110k
$15,674
$16,784
Over $110k
$16,207
$17,954
Outcomes
Graduation rate
61%
54%
Freshman retention
82%
77%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$44,903
$38,829
Median earnings (10 yr)
$52,279
$45,454
Median debt at graduation
$22,135
$22,675
Student body
Pell grant recipients
22%
34%
First-generation students
31%
46%
International students
4%
2%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Aug 1
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Louisiana Tech University or Nicholls State University harder to get into?
Louisiana Tech University is harder to get into. It admits about 86% of applicants, compared with 91% at Nicholls State University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Louisiana Tech University or Nicholls State University?
Louisiana Tech University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $11,864 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $12,947 at Nicholls State University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Louisiana Tech University and Nicholls State University?
Before aid, Nicholls State University costs about $23,481 a year and Louisiana Tech University about $24,280. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Louisiana Tech University or Nicholls State University?
Louisiana Tech University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $7,676 there, against about $10,714 at Nicholls State University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Louisiana Tech University or Nicholls State University?
Louisiana Tech University is the larger of the two, with about 8,312 undergraduates against 4,737 at Nicholls State University.
Does Louisiana Tech University or Nicholls State University have a better graduation rate?
Louisiana Tech University has the higher graduation rate, at about 61% against 54% at Nicholls State University.
Do graduates of Louisiana Tech University or Nicholls State University earn more?
Louisiana Tech University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $52,279 ten years after enrolling, against about $45,454 for Nicholls State University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Louisiana Tech University and Nicholls State University require SAT or ACT scores?
Louisiana Tech University considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them. Nicholls State University considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them.
What SAT scores do Louisiana Tech University and Nicholls State University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1100–1310 at Louisiana Tech University and 934–1196 at Nicholls State University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school