Skip to content

Miles College vs Columbia Southern University

Miles College is a private college in Fairfield, AL, and Columbia Southern University is a private for-profit university in Orange Beach, AL. Miles College is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $14,271 a year against $14,580 at Columbia Southern University. About 35% of students graduate at Columbia Southern University, compared with 20% at Miles College. Ten years after enrolling, Columbia Southern University alumni earn a median of about $63,534, against $32,627 for Miles College.

Miles College

Fairfield, AL · Private

Columbia Southern University

Orange Beach, AL · Private (for-profit)
At a glance
Type
Private
Private (for-profit)
Location
Fairfield, AL
Orange Beach, AL
Setting
Suburban
Suburban
Undergraduates
1,155
12,176
Acceptance rate
Not reported
100%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
Not reported
3.2–3.7
SAT (middle 50%)
Not reported
Not reported
ACT (middle 50%)
Not reported
Not reported
Test policy
Not reported
Not reported
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$14,271
$14,580
Full cost / yr
$21,154
$18,226
In-state tuition
$13,314
$6,760
Out-of-state tuition
$13,314
$6,760
Application fee
Not reported
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$13,907
$12,913
$30k - $48k
$13,677
$13,455
$48k - $75k
$16,747
$15,569
$75k - $110k
$18,889
$16,226
Over $110k
Not reported
$17,408
Outcomes
Graduation rate
20%
35%
Freshman retention
56%
71%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$25,822
$55,140
Median earnings (10 yr)
$32,627
$63,534
Median debt at graduation
$31,217
$21,339
Student body
Pell grant recipients
72%
24%
First-generation students
42%
54%
International students
0%
0%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Aug 2
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Which is cheaper, Miles College or Columbia Southern University?
Miles College is cheaper on average. Students pay about $14,271 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $14,580 at Columbia Southern University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Miles College and Columbia Southern University?
Before aid, Columbia Southern University costs about $18,226 a year and Miles College about $21,154. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Miles College or Columbia Southern University?
Columbia Southern University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $12,913 there, against about $13,907 at Miles College. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Miles College or Columbia Southern University?
Columbia Southern University is the larger of the two, with about 12,176 undergraduates against 1,155 at Miles College.
Does Miles College or Columbia Southern University have a better graduation rate?
Columbia Southern University has the higher graduation rate, at about 35% against 20% at Miles College.
Do graduates of Miles College or Columbia Southern University earn more?
Columbia Southern University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $63,534 ten years after enrolling, against about $32,627 for Miles College. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school