Skip to content

Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design vs Wisconsin Lutheran College

Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design is a private institute in Milwaukee, WI. Wisconsin Lutheran College is a private college in Milwaukee, WI. Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design admits about 61% of applicants and Wisconsin Lutheran College about 78%, making Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $23,245 a year at Wisconsin Lutheran College after aid, and about $26,541 at Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design. About 65% of students graduate at Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design, compared with 63% at Wisconsin Lutheran College. Ten years after enrolling, Wisconsin Lutheran College alumni earn a median of about $54,664, against $41,174 for Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design.

Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design

Milwaukee, WI · Private

Wisconsin Lutheran College

Milwaukee, WI · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Milwaukee, WI
Milwaukee, WI
Setting
Urban
Urban
Undergraduates
837
943
Acceptance rate
61%
78%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.4–3.9
3.4–3.9
SAT (middle 50%)
940–1140
970–1230
ACT (middle 50%)
20–28
23–29
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$26,541
$23,245
Full cost / yr
$53,528
$48,785
In-state tuition
$43,743
$36,110
Out-of-state tuition
$43,743
$36,110
Application fee
Not reported
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$21,419
$18,190
$30k - $48k
$22,531
$15,913
$48k - $75k
$22,440
$20,519
$75k - $110k
$26,746
$20,475
Over $110k
$32,540
$28,019
Outcomes
Graduation rate
65%
63%
Freshman retention
80%
73%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$29,841
$49,095
Median earnings (10 yr)
$41,174
$54,664
Median debt at graduation
$27,000
$26,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
37%
29%
First-generation students
30%
29%
International students
0%
1%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Dec 1
Dec 1
Regular decision
Feb 15
Feb 1

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design or Wisconsin Lutheran College harder to get into?
Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design is harder to get into. It admits about 61% of applicants, compared with 78% at Wisconsin Lutheran College. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design or Wisconsin Lutheran College?
Wisconsin Lutheran College is cheaper on average. Students pay about $23,245 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $26,541 at Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design and Wisconsin Lutheran College?
Before aid, Wisconsin Lutheran College costs about $48,785 a year and Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design about $53,528. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design or Wisconsin Lutheran College?
Wisconsin Lutheran College. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $18,190 there, against about $21,419 at Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design or Wisconsin Lutheran College?
Wisconsin Lutheran College is the larger of the two, with about 943 undergraduates against 837 at Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design.
Does Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design or Wisconsin Lutheran College have a better graduation rate?
Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design has the higher graduation rate, at about 65% against 63% at Wisconsin Lutheran College.
Do graduates of Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design or Wisconsin Lutheran College earn more?
Wisconsin Lutheran College alumni earn more on average: a median of about $54,664 ten years after enrolling, against about $41,174 for Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design and Wisconsin Lutheran College require SAT or ACT scores?
Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Wisconsin Lutheran College is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design and Wisconsin Lutheran College look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 940–1140 at Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design and 970–1230 at Wisconsin Lutheran College. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school