Skip to content

Minot State University vs Valley City State University

Minot State University is a public university in Minot, ND. Valley City State University is a public university in Valley City, ND. Minot State University admits about 65% of applicants and Valley City State University about 99%, making Minot State University the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $11,890 a year at Valley City State University after aid, and about $12,703 at Minot State University. About 51% of students graduate at Valley City State University, compared with 46% at Minot State University. Ten years after enrolling, Valley City State University alumni earn a median of about $52,725, against $51,759 for Minot State University.

Minot State University

Minot, ND · Public

Valley City State University

Valley City, ND · Public
At a glance
Type
Public
Public
Location
Minot, ND
Valley City, ND
Setting
Urban
Suburban
Undergraduates
2,062
958
Acceptance rate
65%
99%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.39–3.89
3.06–3.56
SAT (middle 50%)
930–1140
830–1070
ACT (middle 50%)
18–24
17–24
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$12,703
$11,890
Full cost / yr
$19,339
$20,468
In-state tuition
$8,702
$8,514
Out-of-state tuition
$8,702
$13,544
Application fee
$35
$35
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$9,492
$7,879
$30k - $48k
$10,388
$7,787
$48k - $75k
$11,359
$10,841
$75k - $110k
$13,674
$12,538
Over $110k
$15,632
$14,570
Outcomes
Graduation rate
46%
51%
Freshman retention
66%
71%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$46,214
$45,820
Median earnings (10 yr)
$51,759
$52,725
Median debt at graduation
$19,609
$20,369
Student body
Pell grant recipients
24%
17%
First-generation students
35%
26%
International students
11%
3%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Jun 30
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Minot State University or Valley City State University harder to get into?
Minot State University is harder to get into. It admits about 65% of applicants, compared with 99% at Valley City State University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Minot State University or Valley City State University?
Valley City State University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $11,890 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $12,703 at Minot State University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Minot State University and Valley City State University?
Before aid, Minot State University costs about $19,339 a year and Valley City State University about $20,468. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Minot State University or Valley City State University?
Valley City State University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $7,879 there, against about $9,492 at Minot State University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Minot State University or Valley City State University?
Minot State University is the larger of the two, with about 2,062 undergraduates against 958 at Valley City State University.
Does Minot State University or Valley City State University have a better graduation rate?
Valley City State University has the higher graduation rate, at about 51% against 46% at Minot State University.
Do graduates of Minot State University or Valley City State University earn more?
Valley City State University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $52,725 ten years after enrolling, against about $51,759 for Minot State University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Minot State University and Valley City State University require SAT or ACT scores?
Minot State University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Valley City State University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Minot State University and Valley City State University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 930–1140 at Minot State University and 830–1070 at Valley City State University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school