Skip to content

Morningside University vs Wartburg College

Morningside University is a private university in Sioux City, IA. Wartburg College is a private college in Waverly, IA. Morningside University admits about 71% of applicants and Wartburg College about 76%, making Morningside University the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $31,320 a year at Morningside University after aid, and about $32,908 at Wartburg College. About 66% of students graduate at Wartburg College, compared with 52% at Morningside University. Ten years after enrolling, Wartburg College alumni earn a median of about $56,201, against $55,494 for Morningside University.

See which of these two fits you, and what each would actually cost you.

Start the free quiz

Morningside University

Sioux City, IA · Private

Wartburg College

Waverly, IA · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Sioux City, IA
Waverly, IA
Setting
Urban
Suburban
Undergraduates
1,163
1,452
Acceptance rate
71%
76%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.42–3.92
3.35–3.85
SAT (middle 50%)
1040–1210
930–1200
ACT (middle 50%)
12–22
21–27
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$31,320
$32,908
Full cost / yr
$52,577
$64,359
In-state tuition
$39,660
$26,250
Out-of-state tuition
$39,660
$26,250
Application fee
$0
$0
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$33,738
$21,688
$30k - $48k
$21,201
$20,751
$48k - $75k
$19,124
$27,056
$75k - $110k
$20,575
$28,873
Over $110k
$41,981
$38,864
Outcomes
Graduation rate
52%
66%
Freshman retention
74%
76%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$47,687
$48,795
Median earnings (10 yr)
$55,494
$56,201
Median debt at graduation
$26,028
$27,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
34%
22%
First-generation students
23%
17%
International students
8%
5%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Morningside University or Wartburg College harder to get into?
Morningside University is harder to get into. It admits about 71% of applicants, compared with 76% at Wartburg College. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Morningside University or Wartburg College?
Morningside University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $31,320 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $32,908 at Wartburg College. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Morningside University and Wartburg College?
Before aid, Morningside University costs about $52,577 a year and Wartburg College about $64,359. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Morningside University or Wartburg College?
Wartburg College. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $21,688 there, against about $33,738 at Morningside University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Morningside University or Wartburg College?
Wartburg College is the larger of the two, with about 1,452 undergraduates against 1,163 at Morningside University.
Does Morningside University or Wartburg College have a better graduation rate?
Wartburg College has the higher graduation rate, at about 66% against 52% at Morningside University.
Do graduates of Morningside University or Wartburg College earn more?
Wartburg College alumni earn more on average: a median of about $56,201 ten years after enrolling, against about $55,494 for Morningside University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Morningside University and Wartburg College require SAT or ACT scores?
Morningside University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Wartburg College is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Morningside University and Wartburg College look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1040–1210 at Morningside University and 930–1200 at Wartburg College. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school