Skip to content

Nicholls State University vs University of Louisiana at Lafayette

Nicholls State University is a public university in Thibodaux, LA, and University of Louisiana at Lafayette is a public university in Lafayette, LA. University of Louisiana at Lafayette is the more selective of the two, admitting about 87% of applicants against 91% at Nicholls State University. Nicholls State University is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $12,947 a year against $13,530 at University of Louisiana at Lafayette. About 54% of students graduate at Nicholls State University, compared with 52% at University of Louisiana at Lafayette. Ten years after enrolling, University of Louisiana at Lafayette alumni earn a median of about $47,089, against $45,454 for Nicholls State University.

Nicholls State University

Thibodaux, LA · Public

University of Louisiana at Lafayette

Lafayette, LA · Public
At a glance
Type
Public
Public
Location
Thibodaux, LA
Lafayette, LA
Setting
Urban
Urban
Undergraduates
4,737
12,428
Acceptance rate
91%
87%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.2–3.7
3.34–3.84
SAT (middle 50%)
934–1196
1120–1240
ACT (middle 50%)
19–24
23–28
Test policy
Considered
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$12,947
$13,530
Full cost / yr
$23,481
$24,884
In-state tuition
$8,149
$10,418
Out-of-state tuition
$9,242
$24,146
Application fee
$20
$25
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$10,714
$11,157
$30k - $48k
$10,527
$11,283
$48k - $75k
$12,139
$13,692
$75k - $110k
$16,784
$17,079
Over $110k
$17,954
$18,562
Outcomes
Graduation rate
54%
52%
Freshman retention
77%
74%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$38,829
$42,668
Median earnings (10 yr)
$45,454
$47,089
Median debt at graduation
$22,675
$22,902
Student body
Pell grant recipients
34%
42%
First-generation students
46%
38%
International students
2%
1%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Jul 1

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Nicholls State University or University of Louisiana at Lafayette harder to get into?
University of Louisiana at Lafayette is harder to get into. It admits about 87% of applicants, compared with 91% at Nicholls State University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Nicholls State University or University of Louisiana at Lafayette?
Nicholls State University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $12,947 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $13,530 at University of Louisiana at Lafayette. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Nicholls State University and University of Louisiana at Lafayette?
Before aid, Nicholls State University costs about $23,481 a year and University of Louisiana at Lafayette about $24,884. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Nicholls State University or University of Louisiana at Lafayette?
Nicholls State University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $10,714 there, against about $11,157 at University of Louisiana at Lafayette. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Nicholls State University or University of Louisiana at Lafayette?
University of Louisiana at Lafayette is the larger of the two, with about 12,428 undergraduates against 4,737 at Nicholls State University.
Does Nicholls State University or University of Louisiana at Lafayette have a better graduation rate?
Nicholls State University has the higher graduation rate, at about 54% against 52% at University of Louisiana at Lafayette.
Do graduates of Nicholls State University or University of Louisiana at Lafayette earn more?
University of Louisiana at Lafayette alumni earn more on average: a median of about $47,089 ten years after enrolling, against about $45,454 for Nicholls State University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Nicholls State University and University of Louisiana at Lafayette require SAT or ACT scores?
Nicholls State University considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them. University of Louisiana at Lafayette is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Nicholls State University and University of Louisiana at Lafayette look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 934–1196 at Nicholls State University and 1120–1240 at University of Louisiana at Lafayette. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school