Skip to content

North Central University vs Saint Cloud State University

North Central University is a private university in Minneapolis, MN, and Saint Cloud State University is a public university in Saint Cloud, MN. Saint Cloud State University is the more selective of the two, admitting about 95% of applicants against 99% at North Central University. Saint Cloud State University is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $13,529 a year against $25,817 at North Central University. About 65% of students graduate at North Central University, compared with 44% at Saint Cloud State University. Ten years after enrolling, Saint Cloud State University alumni earn a median of about $55,813, against $45,064 for North Central University.

North Central University

Minneapolis, MN · Private

Saint Cloud State University

Saint Cloud, MN · Public
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
Minneapolis, MN
Saint Cloud, MN
Setting
Urban
Urban
Undergraduates
709
5,088
Acceptance rate
99%
95%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.13–3.63
3.19–3.69
SAT (middle 50%)
950–1148
1025–1260
ACT (middle 50%)
18–24
17–25
Test policy
Test blind
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$25,817
$13,529
Full cost / yr
$44,475
$21,116
In-state tuition
$32,220
$10,245
Out-of-state tuition
$32,220
$10,245
Application fee
$0
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$20,450
$8,909
$30k - $48k
$22,393
$9,871
$48k - $75k
$23,892
$12,034
$75k - $110k
$28,167
$14,781
Over $110k
$30,213
$18,989
Outcomes
Graduation rate
65%
44%
Freshman retention
82%
71%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$37,688
$47,215
Median earnings (10 yr)
$45,064
$55,813
Median debt at graduation
$23,200
$21,058
Student body
Pell grant recipients
43%
22%
First-generation students
22%
27%
International students
1%
14%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Dec 1
Not reported
Regular decision
Jan 4
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is North Central University or Saint Cloud State University harder to get into?
Saint Cloud State University is harder to get into. It admits about 95% of applicants, compared with 99% at North Central University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, North Central University or Saint Cloud State University?
Saint Cloud State University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $13,529 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $25,817 at North Central University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at North Central University and Saint Cloud State University?
Before aid, Saint Cloud State University costs about $21,116 a year and North Central University about $44,475. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, North Central University or Saint Cloud State University?
Saint Cloud State University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $8,909 there, against about $20,450 at North Central University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, North Central University or Saint Cloud State University?
Saint Cloud State University is the larger of the two, with about 5,088 undergraduates against 709 at North Central University.
Does North Central University or Saint Cloud State University have a better graduation rate?
North Central University has the higher graduation rate, at about 65% against 44% at Saint Cloud State University.
Do graduates of North Central University or Saint Cloud State University earn more?
Saint Cloud State University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $55,813 ten years after enrolling, against about $45,064 for North Central University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do North Central University and Saint Cloud State University require SAT or ACT scores?
North Central University is test blind and does not consider SAT or ACT scores at all. Saint Cloud State University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do North Central University and Saint Cloud State University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 950–1148 at North Central University and 1025–1260 at Saint Cloud State University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school