Skip to content

Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Lehigh Valley vs Point Park University

Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Lehigh Valley is a public university in Center Valley, PA, and Point Park University is a private university in Pittsburgh, PA. Both admit about 97% of applicants. Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Lehigh Valley is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $18,220 a year against $25,942 at Point Park University. About 59% of students graduate at Point Park University, compared with 18% at Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Lehigh Valley. Ten years after enrolling, Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Lehigh Valley alumni earn a median of about $63,435, against $45,856 for Point Park University.

Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Lehigh Valley

Center Valley, PA · Public

Point Park University

Pittsburgh, PA · Private
At a glance
Type
Public
Private
Location
Center Valley, PA
Pittsburgh, PA
Setting
Suburban
Urban
Undergraduates
859
2,331
Acceptance rate
97%
97%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.23–3.73
3.19–3.69
SAT (middle 50%)
1130–1320
1030–1245
ACT (middle 50%)
20–28
19–26
Test policy
Considered
Test blind
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$18,220
$25,942
Full cost / yr
$28,109
$52,643
In-state tuition
$15,208
$39,570
Out-of-state tuition
$25,392
$39,570
Application fee
$65
$0
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$12,422
$22,436
$30k - $48k
$13,319
$22,064
$48k - $75k
$16,438
$22,362
$75k - $110k
$23,611
$27,325
Over $110k
$24,539
$29,813
Outcomes
Graduation rate
18%
59%
Freshman retention
83%
74%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$55,620
$36,906
Median earnings (10 yr)
$63,435
$45,856
Median debt at graduation
$25,000
$27,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
35%
39%
First-generation students
29%
29%
International students
1%
4%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Lehigh Valley or Point Park University harder to get into?
They are about equally selective: both admit around 97% of applicants. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Lehigh Valley or Point Park University?
Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Lehigh Valley is cheaper on average. Students pay about $18,220 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $25,942 at Point Park University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Lehigh Valley and Point Park University?
Before aid, Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Lehigh Valley costs about $28,109 a year and Point Park University about $52,643. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Lehigh Valley or Point Park University?
Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Lehigh Valley. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $12,422 there, against about $22,436 at Point Park University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Lehigh Valley or Point Park University?
Point Park University is the larger of the two, with about 2,331 undergraduates against 859 at Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Lehigh Valley.
Does Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Lehigh Valley or Point Park University have a better graduation rate?
Point Park University has the higher graduation rate, at about 59% against 18% at Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Lehigh Valley.
Do graduates of Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Lehigh Valley or Point Park University earn more?
Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Lehigh Valley alumni earn more on average: a median of about $63,435 ten years after enrolling, against about $45,856 for Point Park University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Lehigh Valley and Point Park University require SAT or ACT scores?
Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Lehigh Valley considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them. Point Park University is test blind and does not consider SAT or ACT scores at all.
What SAT scores do Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Lehigh Valley and Point Park University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1130–1320 at Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Lehigh Valley and 1030–1245 at Point Park University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school