Skip to content

Provo College vs Western Governors University

Provo College is a private for-profit college in Provo, UT. Western Governors University is a private university in Salt Lake City, UT. Both admit about 100% of applicants. Students pay an average of about $12,548 a year at Western Governors University after aid, and about $27,053 at Provo College. About 53% of students graduate at Provo College, compared with 48% at Western Governors University. Ten years after enrolling, Western Governors University alumni earn a median of about $60,615, against $39,645 for Provo College.

Provo College

Provo, UT · Private (for-profit)

Western Governors University

Salt Lake City, UT · Private
At a glance
Type
Private (for-profit)
Private
Location
Provo, UT
Salt Lake City, UT
Setting
Urban
Suburban
Undergraduates
669
155,088
Acceptance rate
100%
100%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.2–3.7
3.2–3.7
SAT (middle 50%)
Not reported
Not reported
ACT (middle 50%)
Not reported
Not reported
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$27,053
$12,548
Full cost / yr
$30,099
$16,728
In-state tuition
$16,548
$8,658
Out-of-state tuition
$16,548
$8,658
Application fee
Not reported
$65
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
Not reported
$12,064
$30k - $48k
$30,099
$12,436
$48k - $75k
$24,784
$12,578
$75k - $110k
$29,053
$14,824
Over $110k
$28,227
$12,734
Outcomes
Graduation rate
53%
48%
Freshman retention
67%
65%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$32,673
$69,572
Median earnings (10 yr)
$39,645
$60,615
Median debt at graduation
$41,733
$11,116
Student body
Pell grant recipients
31%
39%
First-generation students
38%
47%
International students
0%
0%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Provo College or Western Governors University harder to get into?
They are about equally selective: both admit around 100% of applicants. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Provo College or Western Governors University?
Western Governors University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $12,548 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $27,053 at Provo College. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Provo College and Western Governors University?
Before aid, Western Governors University costs about $16,728 a year and Provo College about $30,099. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is bigger, Provo College or Western Governors University?
Western Governors University is the larger of the two, with about 155,088 undergraduates against 669 at Provo College.
Does Provo College or Western Governors University have a better graduation rate?
Provo College has the higher graduation rate, at about 53% against 48% at Western Governors University.
Do graduates of Provo College or Western Governors University earn more?
Western Governors University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $60,615 ten years after enrolling, against about $39,645 for Provo College. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Provo College and Western Governors University require SAT or ACT scores?
Provo College is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Western Governors University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school