Skip to content

University of Alabama at Birmingham vs Jacksonville State University

University of Alabama at Birmingham is a public university in Birmingham, AL. Jacksonville State University is a public university in Jacksonville, AL. Jacksonville State University admits about 78% of applicants and University of Alabama at Birmingham about 88%, making Jacksonville State University the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $14,279 a year at Jacksonville State University after aid, and about $18,749 at University of Alabama at Birmingham. About 63% of students graduate at University of Alabama at Birmingham, compared with 53% at Jacksonville State University. Ten years after enrolling, University of Alabama at Birmingham alumni earn a median of about $54,501, against $45,235 for Jacksonville State University.

University of Alabama at Birmingham

Birmingham, AL · Public

Jacksonville State University

Jacksonville, AL · Public
At a glance
Type
Public
Public
Location
Birmingham, AL
Jacksonville, AL
Setting
Urban
Suburban
Undergraduates
11,635
7,036
Acceptance rate
88%
78%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
~3.77 avg
3.4–3.9
SAT (middle 50%)
1210–1450
1000–1290
ACT (middle 50%)
23–30
17–24
Test policy
Considered
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$18,749
$14,279
Full cost / yr
$28,145
$24,257
In-state tuition
$9,098
$12,894
Out-of-state tuition
$22,562
$23,334
Application fee
$40
$35
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$16,172
$12,472
$30k - $48k
$15,500
$12,622
$48k - $75k
$19,161
$15,343
$75k - $110k
$21,805
$17,480
Over $110k
$22,597
$18,183
Outcomes
Graduation rate
63%
53%
Freshman retention
80%
65%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$46,572
$40,158
Median earnings (10 yr)
$54,501
$45,235
Median debt at graduation
$22,300
$22,189
Student body
Pell grant recipients
34%
43%
First-generation students
34%
36%
International students
2%
4%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is University of Alabama at Birmingham or Jacksonville State University harder to get into?
Jacksonville State University is harder to get into. It admits about 78% of applicants, compared with 88% at University of Alabama at Birmingham. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, University of Alabama at Birmingham or Jacksonville State University?
Jacksonville State University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $14,279 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $18,749 at University of Alabama at Birmingham. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at University of Alabama at Birmingham and Jacksonville State University?
Before aid, Jacksonville State University costs about $24,257 a year and University of Alabama at Birmingham about $28,145. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, University of Alabama at Birmingham or Jacksonville State University?
Jacksonville State University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $12,472 there, against about $16,172 at University of Alabama at Birmingham. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, University of Alabama at Birmingham or Jacksonville State University?
University of Alabama at Birmingham is the larger of the two, with about 11,635 undergraduates against 7,036 at Jacksonville State University.
Does University of Alabama at Birmingham or Jacksonville State University have a better graduation rate?
University of Alabama at Birmingham has the higher graduation rate, at about 63% against 53% at Jacksonville State University.
Do graduates of University of Alabama at Birmingham or Jacksonville State University earn more?
University of Alabama at Birmingham alumni earn more on average: a median of about $54,501 ten years after enrolling, against about $45,235 for Jacksonville State University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do University of Alabama at Birmingham and Jacksonville State University require SAT or ACT scores?
University of Alabama at Birmingham considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them. Jacksonville State University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do University of Alabama at Birmingham and Jacksonville State University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1210–1450 at University of Alabama at Birmingham and 1000–1290 at Jacksonville State University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school