Skip to content

University of Colorado Colorado Springs vs Colorado Mesa University

University of Colorado Colorado Springs is a public university in Colorado Springs, CO, and Colorado Mesa University is a public university in Grand Junction, CO. Colorado Mesa University is the more selective of the two, admitting about 82% of applicants against 97% at University of Colorado Colorado Springs. Colorado Mesa University is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $15,103 a year against $15,788 at University of Colorado Colorado Springs. About 46% of students graduate at University of Colorado Colorado Springs, compared with 41% at Colorado Mesa University. Ten years after enrolling, University of Colorado Colorado Springs alumni earn a median of about $54,659, against $45,823 for Colorado Mesa University.

University of Colorado Colorado Springs

Colorado Springs, CO · Public

Colorado Mesa University

Grand Junction, CO · Public
At a glance
Type
Public
Public
Location
Colorado Springs, CO
Grand Junction, CO
Setting
Urban
Urban
Undergraduates
8,697
8,143
Acceptance rate
97%
82%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.19–3.69
3.32–3.82
SAT (middle 50%)
1010–1220
930–1160
ACT (middle 50%)
20–26
18–24
Test policy
Test optional
Considered
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$15,788
$15,103
Full cost / yr
$24,595
$24,046
In-state tuition
$10,149
$9,927
Out-of-state tuition
$24,336
$25,124
Application fee
$50
$40
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$12,065
$10,792
$30k - $48k
$11,642
$11,920
$48k - $75k
$12,104
$14,692
$75k - $110k
$18,388
$16,945
Over $110k
$22,142
$20,606
Outcomes
Graduation rate
46%
41%
Freshman retention
68%
79%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$45,766
$39,223
Median earnings (10 yr)
$54,659
$45,823
Median debt at graduation
$20,000
$22,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
27%
28%
First-generation students
31%
39%
International students
1%
2%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Aug 1

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is University of Colorado Colorado Springs or Colorado Mesa University harder to get into?
Colorado Mesa University is harder to get into. It admits about 82% of applicants, compared with 97% at University of Colorado Colorado Springs. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, University of Colorado Colorado Springs or Colorado Mesa University?
Colorado Mesa University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $15,103 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $15,788 at University of Colorado Colorado Springs. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at University of Colorado Colorado Springs and Colorado Mesa University?
Before aid, Colorado Mesa University costs about $24,046 a year and University of Colorado Colorado Springs about $24,595. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, University of Colorado Colorado Springs or Colorado Mesa University?
Colorado Mesa University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $10,792 there, against about $12,065 at University of Colorado Colorado Springs. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, University of Colorado Colorado Springs or Colorado Mesa University?
University of Colorado Colorado Springs is the larger of the two, with about 8,697 undergraduates against 8,143 at Colorado Mesa University.
Does University of Colorado Colorado Springs or Colorado Mesa University have a better graduation rate?
University of Colorado Colorado Springs has the higher graduation rate, at about 46% against 41% at Colorado Mesa University.
Do graduates of University of Colorado Colorado Springs or Colorado Mesa University earn more?
University of Colorado Colorado Springs alumni earn more on average: a median of about $54,659 ten years after enrolling, against about $45,823 for Colorado Mesa University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do University of Colorado Colorado Springs and Colorado Mesa University require SAT or ACT scores?
University of Colorado Colorado Springs is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Colorado Mesa University considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them.
What SAT scores do University of Colorado Colorado Springs and Colorado Mesa University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1010–1220 at University of Colorado Colorado Springs and 930–1160 at Colorado Mesa University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school