Skip to content

University of Missouri-Kansas City vs Rockhurst University

University of Missouri-Kansas City is a public university in Kansas City, MO. Rockhurst University is a private university in Kansas City, MO. Rockhurst University admits about 70% of applicants and University of Missouri-Kansas City about 72%, making Rockhurst University the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $13,310 a year at University of Missouri-Kansas City after aid, and about $25,884 at Rockhurst University. About 75% of students graduate at Rockhurst University, compared with 56% at University of Missouri-Kansas City. Ten years after enrolling, Rockhurst University alumni earn a median of about $67,102, against $59,637 for University of Missouri-Kansas City.

University of Missouri-Kansas City

Kansas City, MO · Public

Rockhurst University

Kansas City, MO · Private
At a glance
Type
Public
Private
Location
Kansas City, MO
Kansas City, MO
Setting
Urban
Urban
Undergraduates
6,817
1,580
Acceptance rate
72%
70%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.56–4
3.43–3.93
SAT (middle 50%)
1290–1550
1116–1246
ACT (middle 50%)
20–28
19–26
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$13,310
$25,884
Full cost / yr
$25,320
$59,898
In-state tuition
$12,587
$44,966
Out-of-state tuition
$30,227
$44,966
Application fee
Not reported
$0
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$10,576
$22,797
$30k - $48k
$10,472
$19,895
$48k - $75k
$12,613
$21,997
$75k - $110k
$16,019
$26,522
Over $110k
$18,877
$30,348
Outcomes
Graduation rate
56%
75%
Freshman retention
75%
79%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$50,298
$61,371
Median earnings (10 yr)
$59,637
$67,102
Median debt at graduation
$18,750
$18,250
Student body
Pell grant recipients
26%
20%
First-generation students
34%
21%
International students
4%
3%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Jun 15
Jul 28

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is University of Missouri-Kansas City or Rockhurst University harder to get into?
Rockhurst University is harder to get into. It admits about 70% of applicants, compared with 72% at University of Missouri-Kansas City. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, University of Missouri-Kansas City or Rockhurst University?
University of Missouri-Kansas City is cheaper on average. Students pay about $13,310 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $25,884 at Rockhurst University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at University of Missouri-Kansas City and Rockhurst University?
Before aid, University of Missouri-Kansas City costs about $25,320 a year and Rockhurst University about $59,898. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, University of Missouri-Kansas City or Rockhurst University?
University of Missouri-Kansas City. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $10,576 there, against about $22,797 at Rockhurst University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, University of Missouri-Kansas City or Rockhurst University?
University of Missouri-Kansas City is the larger of the two, with about 6,817 undergraduates against 1,580 at Rockhurst University.
Does University of Missouri-Kansas City or Rockhurst University have a better graduation rate?
Rockhurst University has the higher graduation rate, at about 75% against 56% at University of Missouri-Kansas City.
Do graduates of University of Missouri-Kansas City or Rockhurst University earn more?
Rockhurst University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $67,102 ten years after enrolling, against about $59,637 for University of Missouri-Kansas City. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do University of Missouri-Kansas City and Rockhurst University require SAT or ACT scores?
University of Missouri-Kansas City is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Rockhurst University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do University of Missouri-Kansas City and Rockhurst University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1290–1550 at University of Missouri-Kansas City and 1116–1246 at Rockhurst University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school