Skip to content

University of Mobile vs University of South Alabama

University of Mobile is a private university in Mobile, AL. University of South Alabama is a public university in Mobile, AL. University of South Alabama admits about 71% of applicants and University of Mobile about 78%, making University of South Alabama the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $17,648 a year at University of South Alabama after aid, and about $22,382 at University of Mobile. About 56% of students graduate at University of Mobile, compared with 53% at University of South Alabama. Ten years after enrolling, University of South Alabama alumni earn a median of about $49,379, against $43,611 for University of Mobile.

See which of these two fits you, and what each would actually cost you.

Start the free quiz

University of Mobile

Mobile, AL · Private

University of South Alabama

Mobile, AL · Public
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
Mobile, AL
Mobile, AL
Setting
Rural
Urban
Undergraduates
1,307
8,879
Acceptance rate
78%
71%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.34–3.84
3.37–3.87
SAT (middle 50%)
1010–1160
970–1190
ACT (middle 50%)
22–28
20–26
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$22,382
$17,648
Full cost / yr
$41,115
$25,476
In-state tuition
$26,910
$10,116
Out-of-state tuition
$26,910
$19,092
Application fee
$25
$35
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$17,550
$12,657
$30k - $48k
$21,133
$13,265
$48k - $75k
$21,633
$16,277
$75k - $110k
$24,766
$23,252
Over $110k
$27,447
$25,322
Outcomes
Graduation rate
56%
53%
Freshman retention
74%
76%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$37,411
$41,307
Median earnings (10 yr)
$43,611
$49,379
Median debt at graduation
$26,500
$24,929
Student body
Pell grant recipients
26%
38%
First-generation students
32%
33%
International students
2%
1%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is University of Mobile or University of South Alabama harder to get into?
University of South Alabama is harder to get into. It admits about 71% of applicants, compared with 78% at University of Mobile. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, University of Mobile or University of South Alabama?
University of South Alabama is cheaper on average. Students pay about $17,648 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $22,382 at University of Mobile. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at University of Mobile and University of South Alabama?
Before aid, University of South Alabama costs about $25,476 a year and University of Mobile about $41,115. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, University of Mobile or University of South Alabama?
University of South Alabama. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $12,657 there, against about $17,550 at University of Mobile. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, University of Mobile or University of South Alabama?
University of South Alabama is the larger of the two, with about 8,879 undergraduates against 1,307 at University of Mobile.
Does University of Mobile or University of South Alabama have a better graduation rate?
University of Mobile has the higher graduation rate, at about 56% against 53% at University of South Alabama.
Do graduates of University of Mobile or University of South Alabama earn more?
University of South Alabama alumni earn more on average: a median of about $49,379 ten years after enrolling, against about $43,611 for University of Mobile. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do University of Mobile and University of South Alabama require SAT or ACT scores?
University of Mobile is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. University of South Alabama is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do University of Mobile and University of South Alabama look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1010–1160 at University of Mobile and 970–1190 at University of South Alabama. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school