Skip to content

University of North Texas vs Texas A&M University-College Station

University of North Texas is a public university in Denton, TX. Texas A&M University-College Station is a public college in College Station, TX. Texas A&M University-College Station admits about 57% of applicants and University of North Texas about 72%, making Texas A&M University-College Station the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $15,649 a year at University of North Texas after aid, and about $21,315 at Texas A&M University-College Station. About 84% of students graduate at Texas A&M University-College Station, compared with 60% at University of North Texas. Ten years after enrolling, Texas A&M University-College Station alumni earn a median of about $72,097, against $57,010 for University of North Texas.

University of North Texas

Denton, TX · Public

Texas A&M University-College Station

College Station, TX · Public
At a glance
Type
Public
Public
Location
Denton, TX
College Station, TX
Setting
Urban
Urban
Undergraduates
34,341
59,615
Acceptance rate
72%
57%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.42–3.92
3.51–4
SAT (middle 50%)
980–1230
1150–1400
ACT (middle 50%)
19–27
25–31
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$15,649
$21,315
Full cost / yr
$26,243
$32,696
In-state tuition
$11,309
$13,154
Out-of-state tuition
$21,149
$40,124
Application fee
$75
$75
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$12,311
$12,784
$30k - $48k
$12,668
$13,317
$48k - $75k
$14,473
$17,435
$75k - $110k
$19,576
$26,520
Over $110k
$22,943
$30,660
Outcomes
Graduation rate
60%
84%
Freshman retention
77%
94%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$46,304
$59,386
Median earnings (10 yr)
$57,010
$72,097
Median debt at graduation
$19,250
$17,804
Student body
Pell grant recipients
38%
20%
First-generation students
35%
30%
International students
4%
1%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Dec 1

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is University of North Texas or Texas A&M University-College Station harder to get into?
Texas A&M University-College Station is harder to get into. It admits about 57% of applicants, compared with 72% at University of North Texas. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, University of North Texas or Texas A&M University-College Station?
University of North Texas is cheaper on average. Students pay about $15,649 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $21,315 at Texas A&M University-College Station. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at University of North Texas and Texas A&M University-College Station?
Before aid, University of North Texas costs about $26,243 a year and Texas A&M University-College Station about $32,696. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, University of North Texas or Texas A&M University-College Station?
University of North Texas. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $12,311 there, against about $12,784 at Texas A&M University-College Station. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, University of North Texas or Texas A&M University-College Station?
Texas A&M University-College Station is the larger of the two, with about 59,615 undergraduates against 34,341 at University of North Texas.
Does University of North Texas or Texas A&M University-College Station have a better graduation rate?
Texas A&M University-College Station has the higher graduation rate, at about 84% against 60% at University of North Texas.
Do graduates of University of North Texas or Texas A&M University-College Station earn more?
Texas A&M University-College Station alumni earn more on average: a median of about $72,097 ten years after enrolling, against about $57,010 for University of North Texas. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do University of North Texas and Texas A&M University-College Station require SAT or ACT scores?
University of North Texas is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Texas A&M University-College Station is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do University of North Texas and Texas A&M University-College Station look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 980–1230 at University of North Texas and 1150–1400 at Texas A&M University-College Station. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school