Skip to content

University of North Texas vs The University of Texas at Dallas

University of North Texas is a public university in Denton, TX. The University of Texas at Dallas is a public university in Richardson, TX. The University of Texas at Dallas admits about 65% of applicants and University of North Texas about 72%, making The University of Texas at Dallas the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $15,649 a year at University of North Texas after aid, and about $18,267 at The University of Texas at Dallas. About 75% of students graduate at The University of Texas at Dallas, compared with 60% at University of North Texas. Ten years after enrolling, The University of Texas at Dallas alumni earn a median of about $68,227, against $57,010 for University of North Texas.

University of North Texas

Denton, TX · Public

The University of Texas at Dallas

Richardson, TX · Public
At a glance
Type
Public
Public
Location
Denton, TX
Richardson, TX
Setting
Urban
Urban
Undergraduates
34,341
21,751
Acceptance rate
72%
65%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.42–3.92
3.49–3.99
SAT (middle 50%)
980–1230
1160–1410
ACT (middle 50%)
19–27
24–32
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$15,649
$18,267
Full cost / yr
$26,243
$29,807
In-state tuition
$11,309
$14,644
Out-of-state tuition
$21,149
$40,144
Application fee
$75
$50
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$12,311
$12,814
$30k - $48k
$12,668
$13,510
$48k - $75k
$14,473
$14,030
$75k - $110k
$19,576
$19,892
Over $110k
$22,943
$26,596
Outcomes
Graduation rate
60%
75%
Freshman retention
77%
90%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$46,304
$57,249
Median earnings (10 yr)
$57,010
$68,227
Median debt at graduation
$19,250
$18,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
38%
30%
First-generation students
35%
31%
International students
4%
6%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Dec 1
Regular decision
Rolling
May 1

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is University of North Texas or The University of Texas at Dallas harder to get into?
The University of Texas at Dallas is harder to get into. It admits about 65% of applicants, compared with 72% at University of North Texas. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, University of North Texas or The University of Texas at Dallas?
University of North Texas is cheaper on average. Students pay about $15,649 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $18,267 at The University of Texas at Dallas. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at University of North Texas and The University of Texas at Dallas?
Before aid, University of North Texas costs about $26,243 a year and The University of Texas at Dallas about $29,807. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, University of North Texas or The University of Texas at Dallas?
University of North Texas. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $12,311 there, against about $12,814 at The University of Texas at Dallas. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, University of North Texas or The University of Texas at Dallas?
University of North Texas is the larger of the two, with about 34,341 undergraduates against 21,751 at The University of Texas at Dallas.
Does University of North Texas or The University of Texas at Dallas have a better graduation rate?
The University of Texas at Dallas has the higher graduation rate, at about 75% against 60% at University of North Texas.
Do graduates of University of North Texas or The University of Texas at Dallas earn more?
The University of Texas at Dallas alumni earn more on average: a median of about $68,227 ten years after enrolling, against about $57,010 for University of North Texas. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do University of North Texas and The University of Texas at Dallas require SAT or ACT scores?
University of North Texas is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. The University of Texas at Dallas is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do University of North Texas and The University of Texas at Dallas look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 980–1230 at University of North Texas and 1160–1410 at The University of Texas at Dallas. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school