Skip to content

University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus vs University of Valley Forge

University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus is a public university in Pittsburgh, PA. University of Valley Forge is a private university in Phoenixville, PA. University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus admits about 58% of applicants and University of Valley Forge about 61%, making University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $30,434 a year at University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus after aid, and about $32,265 at University of Valley Forge. About 85% of students graduate at University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus, compared with 52% at University of Valley Forge. Ten years after enrolling, University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus alumni earn a median of about $66,125, against $39,016 for University of Valley Forge.

University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus

Pittsburgh, PA · Public

University of Valley Forge

Phoenixville, PA · Private
At a glance
Type
Public
Private
Location
Pittsburgh, PA
Phoenixville, PA
Setting
Urban
Suburban
Undergraduates
20,370
471
Acceptance rate
58%
61%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.55–4
3.4–3.9
SAT (middle 50%)
1280–1460
920–1090
ACT (middle 50%)
29–33
17–28
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$30,434
$32,265
Full cost / yr
$38,105
$45,422
In-state tuition
$21,926
$25,240
Out-of-state tuition
$41,430
$25,240
Application fee
$55
$30
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$14,709
$30,614
$30k - $48k
$18,371
$31,228
$48k - $75k
$23,192
$32,077
$75k - $110k
$31,567
$33,146
Over $110k
$36,008
$32,981
Outcomes
Graduation rate
85%
52%
Freshman retention
92%
78%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$54,240
$35,671
Median earnings (10 yr)
$66,125
$39,016
Median debt at graduation
$24,250
$27,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
14%
47%
First-generation students
21%
33%
International students
4%
5%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Aug 1

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus or University of Valley Forge harder to get into?
University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus is harder to get into. It admits about 58% of applicants, compared with 61% at University of Valley Forge. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus or University of Valley Forge?
University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus is cheaper on average. Students pay about $30,434 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $32,265 at University of Valley Forge. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus and University of Valley Forge?
Before aid, University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus costs about $38,105 a year and University of Valley Forge about $45,422. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus or University of Valley Forge?
University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $14,709 there, against about $30,614 at University of Valley Forge. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus or University of Valley Forge?
University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus is the larger of the two, with about 20,370 undergraduates against 471 at University of Valley Forge.
Does University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus or University of Valley Forge have a better graduation rate?
University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus has the higher graduation rate, at about 85% against 52% at University of Valley Forge.
Do graduates of University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus or University of Valley Forge earn more?
University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus alumni earn more on average: a median of about $66,125 ten years after enrolling, against about $39,016 for University of Valley Forge. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus and University of Valley Forge require SAT or ACT scores?
University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. University of Valley Forge is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus and University of Valley Forge look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1280–1460 at University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus and 920–1090 at University of Valley Forge. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school