Skip to content

Cairn University-Langhorne vs University of Pittsburgh-Bradford

Cairn University-Langhorne is a private university in Langhorne, PA, and University of Pittsburgh-Bradford is a public university in Bradford, PA. Cairn University-Langhorne is the more selective of the two, admitting about 88% of applicants against 89% at University of Pittsburgh-Bradford. University of Pittsburgh-Bradford is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $15,350 a year against $27,642 at Cairn University-Langhorne. About 62% of students graduate at Cairn University-Langhorne, compared with 46% at University of Pittsburgh-Bradford. Ten years after enrolling, University of Pittsburgh-Bradford alumni earn a median of about $66,125, against $44,172 for Cairn University-Langhorne.

Cairn University-Langhorne

Langhorne, PA · Private

University of Pittsburgh-Bradford

Bradford, PA · Public
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
Langhorne, PA
Bradford, PA
Setting
Suburban
Suburban
Undergraduates
775
995
Acceptance rate
88%
89%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.25–3.75
3.31–3.81
SAT (middle 50%)
1000–1160
1010–1200
ACT (middle 50%)
23–27
20–28
Test policy
Considered
Considered
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$27,642
$15,350
Full cost / yr
$46,233
$30,478
In-state tuition
$34,009
$14,770
Out-of-state tuition
$34,009
$26,644
Application fee
$25
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$24,029
$9,138
$30k - $48k
$23,867
$8,265
$48k - $75k
$26,050
$17,407
$75k - $110k
$26,309
$18,875
Over $110k
$33,129
$23,352
Outcomes
Graduation rate
62%
46%
Freshman retention
77%
66%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$37,077
$54,240
Median earnings (10 yr)
$44,172
$66,125
Median debt at graduation
$26,926
$24,250
Student body
Pell grant recipients
32%
47%
First-generation students
30%
21%
International students
4%
3%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Cairn University-Langhorne or University of Pittsburgh-Bradford harder to get into?
Cairn University-Langhorne is harder to get into. It admits about 88% of applicants, compared with 89% at University of Pittsburgh-Bradford. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Cairn University-Langhorne or University of Pittsburgh-Bradford?
University of Pittsburgh-Bradford is cheaper on average. Students pay about $15,350 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $27,642 at Cairn University-Langhorne. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Cairn University-Langhorne and University of Pittsburgh-Bradford?
Before aid, University of Pittsburgh-Bradford costs about $30,478 a year and Cairn University-Langhorne about $46,233. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Cairn University-Langhorne or University of Pittsburgh-Bradford?
University of Pittsburgh-Bradford. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $9,138 there, against about $24,029 at Cairn University-Langhorne. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Cairn University-Langhorne or University of Pittsburgh-Bradford?
University of Pittsburgh-Bradford is the larger of the two, with about 995 undergraduates against 775 at Cairn University-Langhorne.
Does Cairn University-Langhorne or University of Pittsburgh-Bradford have a better graduation rate?
Cairn University-Langhorne has the higher graduation rate, at about 62% against 46% at University of Pittsburgh-Bradford.
Do graduates of Cairn University-Langhorne or University of Pittsburgh-Bradford earn more?
University of Pittsburgh-Bradford alumni earn more on average: a median of about $66,125 ten years after enrolling, against about $44,172 for Cairn University-Langhorne. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Cairn University-Langhorne and University of Pittsburgh-Bradford require SAT or ACT scores?
Cairn University-Langhorne considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them. University of Pittsburgh-Bradford considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them.
What SAT scores do Cairn University-Langhorne and University of Pittsburgh-Bradford look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1000–1160 at Cairn University-Langhorne and 1010–1200 at University of Pittsburgh-Bradford. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school