Skip to content

Central Penn College vs Cairn University-Langhorne

Central Penn College is a private for-profit college in Summerdale, PA. Cairn University-Langhorne is a private university in Langhorne, PA. Central Penn College admits about 18% of applicants and Cairn University-Langhorne about 88%, making Central Penn College the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $18,953 a year at Central Penn College after aid, and about $27,642 at Cairn University-Langhorne. About 62% of students graduate at Cairn University-Langhorne, compared with 43% at Central Penn College. Ten years after enrolling, Central Penn College alumni earn a median of about $45,370, against $44,172 for Cairn University-Langhorne.

Central Penn College

Summerdale, PA · Private (for-profit)

Cairn University-Langhorne

Langhorne, PA · Private
At a glance
Type
Private (for-profit)
Private
Location
Summerdale, PA
Langhorne, PA
Setting
Suburban
Suburban
Undergraduates
662
775
Acceptance rate
18%
88%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.5–4
3.25–3.75
SAT (middle 50%)
660–910
1000–1160
ACT (middle 50%)
13–17
23–27
Test policy
Test blind
Considered
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$18,953
$27,642
Full cost / yr
$27,116
$46,233
In-state tuition
$19,854
$34,009
Out-of-state tuition
$19,854
$34,009
Application fee
Not reported
$25
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$15,859
$24,029
$30k - $48k
$19,164
$23,867
$48k - $75k
$17,011
$26,050
$75k - $110k
$18,973
$26,309
Over $110k
$23,656
$33,129
Outcomes
Graduation rate
43%
62%
Freshman retention
65%
77%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$40,798
$37,077
Median earnings (10 yr)
$45,370
$44,172
Median debt at graduation
$23,194
$26,926
Student body
Pell grant recipients
49%
32%
First-generation students
51%
30%
International students
4%
4%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Central Penn College or Cairn University-Langhorne harder to get into?
Central Penn College is harder to get into. It admits about 18% of applicants, compared with 88% at Cairn University-Langhorne. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Central Penn College or Cairn University-Langhorne?
Central Penn College is cheaper on average. Students pay about $18,953 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $27,642 at Cairn University-Langhorne. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Central Penn College and Cairn University-Langhorne?
Before aid, Central Penn College costs about $27,116 a year and Cairn University-Langhorne about $46,233. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Central Penn College or Cairn University-Langhorne?
Central Penn College. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $15,859 there, against about $24,029 at Cairn University-Langhorne. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Central Penn College or Cairn University-Langhorne?
Cairn University-Langhorne is the larger of the two, with about 775 undergraduates against 662 at Central Penn College.
Does Central Penn College or Cairn University-Langhorne have a better graduation rate?
Cairn University-Langhorne has the higher graduation rate, at about 62% against 43% at Central Penn College.
Do graduates of Central Penn College or Cairn University-Langhorne earn more?
Central Penn College alumni earn more on average: a median of about $45,370 ten years after enrolling, against about $44,172 for Cairn University-Langhorne. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Central Penn College and Cairn University-Langhorne require SAT or ACT scores?
Central Penn College is test blind and does not consider SAT or ACT scores at all. Cairn University-Langhorne considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them.
What SAT scores do Central Penn College and Cairn University-Langhorne look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 660–910 at Central Penn College and 1000–1160 at Cairn University-Langhorne. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school