Skip to content

Faulkner University vs Jacksonville State University

Faulkner University is a private university in Montgomery, AL. Jacksonville State University is a public university in Jacksonville, AL. Faulkner University admits about 73% of applicants and Jacksonville State University about 78%, making Faulkner University the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $14,279 a year at Jacksonville State University after aid, and about $22,085 at Faulkner University. About 53% of students graduate at Jacksonville State University, compared with 38% at Faulkner University. Ten years after enrolling, Jacksonville State University alumni earn a median of about $45,235, against $43,457 for Faulkner University.

See which of these two fits you, and what each would actually cost you.

Start the free quiz

Faulkner University

Montgomery, AL · Private

Jacksonville State University

Jacksonville, AL · Public
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
Montgomery, AL
Jacksonville, AL
Setting
Urban
Suburban
Undergraduates
1,549
7,036
Acceptance rate
73%
78%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.36–3.86
3.4–3.9
SAT (middle 50%)
886–1135
1000–1290
ACT (middle 50%)
18–21
17–24
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$22,085
$14,279
Full cost / yr
$37,626
$24,257
In-state tuition
$23,920
$12,894
Out-of-state tuition
$23,920
$23,334
Application fee
$25
$35
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$23,385
$12,472
$30k - $48k
$20,897
$12,622
$48k - $75k
$19,170
$15,343
$75k - $110k
$21,255
$17,480
Over $110k
$22,835
$18,183
Outcomes
Graduation rate
38%
53%
Freshman retention
64%
65%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$37,313
$40,158
Median earnings (10 yr)
$43,457
$45,235
Median debt at graduation
$23,000
$22,189
Student body
Pell grant recipients
46%
43%
First-generation students
43%
36%
International students
5%
4%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Faulkner University or Jacksonville State University harder to get into?
Faulkner University is harder to get into. It admits about 73% of applicants, compared with 78% at Jacksonville State University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Faulkner University or Jacksonville State University?
Jacksonville State University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $14,279 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $22,085 at Faulkner University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Faulkner University and Jacksonville State University?
Before aid, Jacksonville State University costs about $24,257 a year and Faulkner University about $37,626. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Faulkner University or Jacksonville State University?
Jacksonville State University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $12,472 there, against about $23,385 at Faulkner University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Faulkner University or Jacksonville State University?
Jacksonville State University is the larger of the two, with about 7,036 undergraduates against 1,549 at Faulkner University.
Does Faulkner University or Jacksonville State University have a better graduation rate?
Jacksonville State University has the higher graduation rate, at about 53% against 38% at Faulkner University.
Do graduates of Faulkner University or Jacksonville State University earn more?
Jacksonville State University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $45,235 ten years after enrolling, against about $43,457 for Faulkner University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Faulkner University and Jacksonville State University require SAT or ACT scores?
Faulkner University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Jacksonville State University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Faulkner University and Jacksonville State University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 886–1135 at Faulkner University and 1000–1290 at Jacksonville State University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school