Skip to content

Greensboro College vs Carolina University

Greensboro College is a private college in Greensboro, NC. Carolina University is a private university in Winston-Salem, NC. Carolina University admits about 40% of applicants and Greensboro College about 70%, making Carolina University the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $17,882 a year at Greensboro College after aid, and about $20,828 at Carolina University. About 43% of students graduate at Greensboro College, compared with 24% at Carolina University. Ten years after enrolling, Greensboro College alumni earn a median of about $46,566, against $32,864 for Carolina University.

Greensboro College

Greensboro, NC · Private

Carolina University

Winston-Salem, NC · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Greensboro, NC
Winston-Salem, NC
Setting
Urban
Urban
Undergraduates
708
460
Acceptance rate
70%
40%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.37–3.87
3.24–3.94
SAT (middle 50%)
900–1100
840–1060
ACT (middle 50%)
16–22
16–21
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$17,882
$20,828
Full cost / yr
$35,165
$32,680
In-state tuition
$21,000
$17,575
Out-of-state tuition
$21,000
$17,575
Application fee
$0
$25
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$13,877
$17,738
$30k - $48k
$14,361
$17,560
$48k - $75k
$15,614
$22,993
$75k - $110k
$21,248
$23,597
Over $110k
$27,075
$24,152
Outcomes
Graduation rate
43%
24%
Freshman retention
66%
56%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$36,462
$30,657
Median earnings (10 yr)
$46,566
$32,864
Median debt at graduation
$25,607
$20,287
Student body
Pell grant recipients
46%
37%
First-generation students
32%
33%
International students
2%
33%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Jul 1

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Greensboro College or Carolina University harder to get into?
Carolina University is harder to get into. It admits about 40% of applicants, compared with 70% at Greensboro College. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Greensboro College or Carolina University?
Greensboro College is cheaper on average. Students pay about $17,882 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $20,828 at Carolina University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Greensboro College and Carolina University?
Before aid, Carolina University costs about $32,680 a year and Greensboro College about $35,165. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Greensboro College or Carolina University?
Greensboro College. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $13,877 there, against about $17,738 at Carolina University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Greensboro College or Carolina University?
Greensboro College is the larger of the two, with about 708 undergraduates against 460 at Carolina University.
Does Greensboro College or Carolina University have a better graduation rate?
Greensboro College has the higher graduation rate, at about 43% against 24% at Carolina University.
Do graduates of Greensboro College or Carolina University earn more?
Greensboro College alumni earn more on average: a median of about $46,566 ten years after enrolling, against about $32,864 for Carolina University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Greensboro College and Carolina University require SAT or ACT scores?
Greensboro College is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Carolina University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Greensboro College and Carolina University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 900–1100 at Greensboro College and 840–1060 at Carolina University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school