Skip to content

Gwynedd Mercy University vs Cairn University-Langhorne

Gwynedd Mercy University is a private university in Gwynedd Valley, PA, and Cairn University-Langhorne is a private university in Langhorne, PA. Cairn University-Langhorne is the more selective of the two, admitting about 88% of applicants against 90% at Gwynedd Mercy University. Gwynedd Mercy University is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $27,483 a year against $27,642 at Cairn University-Langhorne. About 62% of students graduate at Cairn University-Langhorne, compared with 58% at Gwynedd Mercy University. Ten years after enrolling, Gwynedd Mercy University alumni earn a median of about $67,145, against $44,172 for Cairn University-Langhorne.

Gwynedd Mercy University

Gwynedd Valley, PA · Private

Cairn University-Langhorne

Langhorne, PA · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Gwynedd Valley, PA
Langhorne, PA
Setting
Suburban
Suburban
Undergraduates
1,067
775
Acceptance rate
90%
88%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.29–3.79
3.25–3.75
SAT (middle 50%)
1023–1186
1000–1160
ACT (middle 50%)
18–21
23–27
Test policy
Considered
Considered
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$27,483
$27,642
Full cost / yr
$55,786
$46,233
In-state tuition
$40,122
$34,009
Out-of-state tuition
$40,122
$34,009
Application fee
Not reported
$25
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$21,995
$24,029
$30k - $48k
$20,617
$23,867
$48k - $75k
$22,269
$26,050
$75k - $110k
$27,992
$26,309
Over $110k
$32,456
$33,129
Outcomes
Graduation rate
58%
62%
Freshman retention
78%
77%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$65,976
$37,077
Median earnings (10 yr)
$67,145
$44,172
Median debt at graduation
$25,000
$26,926
Student body
Pell grant recipients
25%
32%
First-generation students
44%
30%
International students
0%
4%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Gwynedd Mercy University or Cairn University-Langhorne harder to get into?
Cairn University-Langhorne is harder to get into. It admits about 88% of applicants, compared with 90% at Gwynedd Mercy University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Gwynedd Mercy University or Cairn University-Langhorne?
Gwynedd Mercy University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $27,483 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $27,642 at Cairn University-Langhorne. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Gwynedd Mercy University and Cairn University-Langhorne?
Before aid, Cairn University-Langhorne costs about $46,233 a year and Gwynedd Mercy University about $55,786. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Gwynedd Mercy University or Cairn University-Langhorne?
Gwynedd Mercy University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $21,995 there, against about $24,029 at Cairn University-Langhorne. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Gwynedd Mercy University or Cairn University-Langhorne?
Gwynedd Mercy University is the larger of the two, with about 1,067 undergraduates against 775 at Cairn University-Langhorne.
Does Gwynedd Mercy University or Cairn University-Langhorne have a better graduation rate?
Cairn University-Langhorne has the higher graduation rate, at about 62% against 58% at Gwynedd Mercy University.
Do graduates of Gwynedd Mercy University or Cairn University-Langhorne earn more?
Gwynedd Mercy University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $67,145 ten years after enrolling, against about $44,172 for Cairn University-Langhorne. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Gwynedd Mercy University and Cairn University-Langhorne require SAT or ACT scores?
Gwynedd Mercy University considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them. Cairn University-Langhorne considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them.
What SAT scores do Gwynedd Mercy University and Cairn University-Langhorne look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1023–1186 at Gwynedd Mercy University and 1000–1160 at Cairn University-Langhorne. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school