Skip to content

Hannibal-LaGrange University vs Stephens College

Hannibal-LaGrange University is a private university in Hannibal, MO, and Stephens College is a private college in Columbia, MO. Hannibal-LaGrange University is the more selective of the two, admitting about 73% of applicants against 77% at Stephens College. Hannibal-LaGrange University is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $22,814 a year against $23,459 at Stephens College. About 47% of students graduate at Hannibal-LaGrange University, compared with 45% at Stephens College. Ten years after enrolling, Stephens College alumni earn a median of about $43,071, against $42,643 for Hannibal-LaGrange University.

Hannibal-LaGrange University

Hannibal, MO · Private

Stephens College

Columbia, MO · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Hannibal, MO
Columbia, MO
Setting
Suburban
Urban
Undergraduates
410
391
Acceptance rate
73%
77%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.42–3.92
3.45–3.95
SAT (middle 50%)
1067–1315
1130–1270
ACT (middle 50%)
15–24
16–23
Test policy
Test optional
Required
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$22,814
$23,459
Full cost / yr
$40,839
$46,643
In-state tuition
$26,880
$28,300
Out-of-state tuition
$26,880
$28,300
Application fee
$25
$0
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$21,285
$9,918
$30k - $48k
$18,019
$14,796
$48k - $75k
$20,681
$18,547
$75k - $110k
$25,376
$25,644
Over $110k
$25,979
$29,787
Outcomes
Graduation rate
47%
45%
Freshman retention
78%
78%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$41,185
$36,778
Median earnings (10 yr)
$42,643
$43,071
Median debt at graduation
$18,599
$27,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
37%
45%
First-generation students
46%
31%
International students
6%
1%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Hannibal-LaGrange University or Stephens College harder to get into?
Hannibal-LaGrange University is harder to get into. It admits about 73% of applicants, compared with 77% at Stephens College. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Hannibal-LaGrange University or Stephens College?
Hannibal-LaGrange University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $22,814 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $23,459 at Stephens College. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Hannibal-LaGrange University and Stephens College?
Before aid, Hannibal-LaGrange University costs about $40,839 a year and Stephens College about $46,643. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Hannibal-LaGrange University or Stephens College?
Stephens College. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $9,918 there, against about $21,285 at Hannibal-LaGrange University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Hannibal-LaGrange University or Stephens College?
Hannibal-LaGrange University is the larger of the two, with about 410 undergraduates against 391 at Stephens College.
Does Hannibal-LaGrange University or Stephens College have a better graduation rate?
Hannibal-LaGrange University has the higher graduation rate, at about 47% against 45% at Stephens College.
Do graduates of Hannibal-LaGrange University or Stephens College earn more?
Stephens College alumni earn more on average: a median of about $43,071 ten years after enrolling, against about $42,643 for Hannibal-LaGrange University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Hannibal-LaGrange University and Stephens College require SAT or ACT scores?
Hannibal-LaGrange University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Stephens College requires SAT or ACT scores.
What SAT scores do Hannibal-LaGrange University and Stephens College look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1067–1315 at Hannibal-LaGrange University and 1130–1270 at Stephens College. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school