Skip to content

Howard Payne University vs University of North Texas

Howard Payne University is a private university in Brownwood, TX, and University of North Texas is a public university in Denton, TX. Howard Payne University is the more selective of the two, admitting about 67% of applicants against 72% at University of North Texas. University of North Texas is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $15,649 a year against $23,627 at Howard Payne University. About 60% of students graduate at University of North Texas, compared with 30% at Howard Payne University. Ten years after enrolling, University of North Texas alumni earn a median of about $57,010, against $48,376 for Howard Payne University.

Howard Payne University

Brownwood, TX · Private

University of North Texas

Denton, TX · Public
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
Brownwood, TX
Denton, TX
Setting
Suburban
Urban
Undergraduates
713
34,341
Acceptance rate
67%
72%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.38–3.88
3.42–3.92
SAT (middle 50%)
880–1160
980–1230
ACT (middle 50%)
16–27
19–27
Test policy
Considered
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$23,627
$15,649
Full cost / yr
$46,766
$26,243
In-state tuition
$34,982
$11,309
Out-of-state tuition
$34,982
$21,149
Application fee
Not reported
$75
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$24,043
$12,311
$30k - $48k
$21,423
$12,668
$48k - $75k
$25,917
$14,473
$75k - $110k
$23,412
$19,576
Over $110k
$24,182
$22,943
Outcomes
Graduation rate
30%
60%
Freshman retention
52%
77%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$38,212
$46,304
Median earnings (10 yr)
$48,376
$57,010
Median debt at graduation
$26,793
$19,250
Student body
Pell grant recipients
44%
38%
First-generation students
37%
35%
International students
0%
4%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Jul 1
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Howard Payne University or University of North Texas harder to get into?
Howard Payne University is harder to get into. It admits about 67% of applicants, compared with 72% at University of North Texas. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Howard Payne University or University of North Texas?
University of North Texas is cheaper on average. Students pay about $15,649 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $23,627 at Howard Payne University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Howard Payne University and University of North Texas?
Before aid, University of North Texas costs about $26,243 a year and Howard Payne University about $46,766. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Howard Payne University or University of North Texas?
University of North Texas. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $12,311 there, against about $24,043 at Howard Payne University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Howard Payne University or University of North Texas?
University of North Texas is the larger of the two, with about 34,341 undergraduates against 713 at Howard Payne University.
Does Howard Payne University or University of North Texas have a better graduation rate?
University of North Texas has the higher graduation rate, at about 60% against 30% at Howard Payne University.
Do graduates of Howard Payne University or University of North Texas earn more?
University of North Texas alumni earn more on average: a median of about $57,010 ten years after enrolling, against about $48,376 for Howard Payne University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Howard Payne University and University of North Texas require SAT or ACT scores?
Howard Payne University considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them. University of North Texas is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Howard Payne University and University of North Texas look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 880–1160 at Howard Payne University and 980–1230 at University of North Texas. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school