Skip to content

Maharishi International University vs Upper Iowa University

Maharishi International University is a private university in Fairfield, IA, and Upper Iowa University is a private university in Fayette, IA. Both admit about 96% of applicants. Maharishi International University is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $14,956 a year against $20,942 at Upper Iowa University. About 38% of students graduate at Upper Iowa University, compared with 34% at Maharishi International University. Ten years after enrolling, Upper Iowa University alumni earn a median of about $52,766, against $27,981 for Maharishi International University.

Maharishi International University

Fairfield, IA · Private

Upper Iowa University

Fayette, IA · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Fairfield, IA
Fayette, IA
Setting
Suburban
Rural
Undergraduates
922
1,994
Acceptance rate
96%
96%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.2–3.7
3.13–3.63
SAT (middle 50%)
Not reported
970–1160
ACT (middle 50%)
Not reported
17–23
Test policy
Test blind
Considered
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$14,956
$20,942
Full cost / yr
$27,892
$34,022
In-state tuition
$16,530
$19,475
Out-of-state tuition
$16,530
$19,475
Application fee
$20
$0
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$14,269
$17,715
$30k - $48k
$16,585
$22,774
$48k - $75k
$14,066
$18,720
$75k - $110k
$18,954
$20,041
Over $110k
Not reported
$23,805
Outcomes
Graduation rate
34%
38%
Freshman retention
61%
68%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$26,468
$48,776
Median earnings (10 yr)
$27,981
$52,766
Median debt at graduation
$24,781
$25,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
57%
32%
First-generation students
34%
45%
International students
1%
4%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Maharishi International University or Upper Iowa University harder to get into?
They are about equally selective: both admit around 96% of applicants. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Maharishi International University or Upper Iowa University?
Maharishi International University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $14,956 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $20,942 at Upper Iowa University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Maharishi International University and Upper Iowa University?
Before aid, Maharishi International University costs about $27,892 a year and Upper Iowa University about $34,022. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Maharishi International University or Upper Iowa University?
Maharishi International University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $14,269 there, against about $17,715 at Upper Iowa University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Maharishi International University or Upper Iowa University?
Upper Iowa University is the larger of the two, with about 1,994 undergraduates against 922 at Maharishi International University.
Does Maharishi International University or Upper Iowa University have a better graduation rate?
Upper Iowa University has the higher graduation rate, at about 38% against 34% at Maharishi International University.
Do graduates of Maharishi International University or Upper Iowa University earn more?
Upper Iowa University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $52,766 ten years after enrolling, against about $27,981 for Maharishi International University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Maharishi International University and Upper Iowa University require SAT or ACT scores?
Maharishi International University is test blind and does not consider SAT or ACT scores at all. Upper Iowa University considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school