Skip to content

Martin Luther College vs Minneapolis College of Art and Design

Martin Luther College is a private college in New Ulm, MN. Minneapolis College of Art and Design is a private college in Minneapolis, MN. Minneapolis College of Art and Design admits about 48% of applicants and Martin Luther College about 87%, making Minneapolis College of Art and Design the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $18,463 a year at Martin Luther College after aid, and about $29,926 at Minneapolis College of Art and Design. About 71% of students graduate at Martin Luther College, compared with 59% at Minneapolis College of Art and Design. Ten years after enrolling, Martin Luther College alumni earn a median of about $47,491, against $40,873 for Minneapolis College of Art and Design.

Martin Luther College

New Ulm, MN · Private

Minneapolis College of Art and Design

Minneapolis, MN · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
New Ulm, MN
Minneapolis, MN
Setting
Suburban
Urban
Undergraduates
725
705
Acceptance rate
87%
48%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.33–3.83
3.41–4
SAT (middle 50%)
1078–1256
1130–1340
ACT (middle 50%)
21–28
21–29
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$18,463
$29,926
Full cost / yr
$29,250
$59,972
In-state tuition
$18,120
$45,484
Out-of-state tuition
$18,120
$45,484
Application fee
$35
$50
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$11,233
$23,662
$30k - $48k
$11,749
$23,905
$48k - $75k
$12,811
$26,550
$75k - $110k
$18,241
$33,038
Over $110k
$22,952
$34,345
Outcomes
Graduation rate
71%
59%
Freshman retention
85%
75%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$40,760
$35,198
Median earnings (10 yr)
$47,491
$40,873
Median debt at graduation
$20,177
$27,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
27%
42%
First-generation students
Not reported
21%
International students
2%
2%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Dec 1
Regular decision
Not reported
Apr 1

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Martin Luther College or Minneapolis College of Art and Design harder to get into?
Minneapolis College of Art and Design is harder to get into. It admits about 48% of applicants, compared with 87% at Martin Luther College. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Martin Luther College or Minneapolis College of Art and Design?
Martin Luther College is cheaper on average. Students pay about $18,463 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $29,926 at Minneapolis College of Art and Design. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Martin Luther College and Minneapolis College of Art and Design?
Before aid, Martin Luther College costs about $29,250 a year and Minneapolis College of Art and Design about $59,972. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Martin Luther College or Minneapolis College of Art and Design?
Martin Luther College. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $11,233 there, against about $23,662 at Minneapolis College of Art and Design. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Martin Luther College or Minneapolis College of Art and Design?
Martin Luther College is the larger of the two, with about 725 undergraduates against 705 at Minneapolis College of Art and Design.
Does Martin Luther College or Minneapolis College of Art and Design have a better graduation rate?
Martin Luther College has the higher graduation rate, at about 71% against 59% at Minneapolis College of Art and Design.
Do graduates of Martin Luther College or Minneapolis College of Art and Design earn more?
Martin Luther College alumni earn more on average: a median of about $47,491 ten years after enrolling, against about $40,873 for Minneapolis College of Art and Design. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Martin Luther College and Minneapolis College of Art and Design require SAT or ACT scores?
Martin Luther College is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Minneapolis College of Art and Design is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Martin Luther College and Minneapolis College of Art and Design look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1078–1256 at Martin Luther College and 1130–1340 at Minneapolis College of Art and Design. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school