Skip to content

Stephens College vs Southeast Missouri State University

Stephens College is a private college in Columbia, MO. Southeast Missouri State University is a public university in Cape Girardeau, MO. Southeast Missouri State University admits about 74% of applicants and Stephens College about 77%, making Southeast Missouri State University the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $15,882 a year at Southeast Missouri State University after aid, and about $23,459 at Stephens College. About 57% of students graduate at Southeast Missouri State University, compared with 45% at Stephens College. Ten years after enrolling, Southeast Missouri State University alumni earn a median of about $44,030, against $43,071 for Stephens College.

Stephens College

Columbia, MO · Private

Southeast Missouri State University

Cape Girardeau, MO · Public
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
Columbia, MO
Cape Girardeau, MO
Setting
Urban
Urban
Undergraduates
391
6,373
Acceptance rate
77%
74%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.45–3.95
3.3–3.8
SAT (middle 50%)
1130–1270
850–1030
ACT (middle 50%)
16–23
15–20
Test policy
Required
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$23,459
$15,882
Full cost / yr
$46,643
$25,177
In-state tuition
$28,300
$9,903
Out-of-state tuition
$28,300
$9,903
Application fee
$0
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$9,918
$12,704
$30k - $48k
$14,796
$13,342
$48k - $75k
$18,547
$15,338
$75k - $110k
$25,644
$17,395
Over $110k
$29,787
$21,267
Outcomes
Graduation rate
45%
57%
Freshman retention
78%
76%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$36,778
$38,150
Median earnings (10 yr)
$43,071
$44,030
Median debt at graduation
$27,000
$21,500
Student body
Pell grant recipients
45%
30%
First-generation students
31%
37%
International students
1%
8%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Stephens College or Southeast Missouri State University harder to get into?
Southeast Missouri State University is harder to get into. It admits about 74% of applicants, compared with 77% at Stephens College. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Stephens College or Southeast Missouri State University?
Southeast Missouri State University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $15,882 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $23,459 at Stephens College. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Stephens College and Southeast Missouri State University?
Before aid, Southeast Missouri State University costs about $25,177 a year and Stephens College about $46,643. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Stephens College or Southeast Missouri State University?
Stephens College. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $9,918 there, against about $12,704 at Southeast Missouri State University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Stephens College or Southeast Missouri State University?
Southeast Missouri State University is the larger of the two, with about 6,373 undergraduates against 391 at Stephens College.
Does Stephens College or Southeast Missouri State University have a better graduation rate?
Southeast Missouri State University has the higher graduation rate, at about 57% against 45% at Stephens College.
Do graduates of Stephens College or Southeast Missouri State University earn more?
Southeast Missouri State University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $44,030 ten years after enrolling, against about $43,071 for Stephens College. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Stephens College and Southeast Missouri State University require SAT or ACT scores?
Stephens College requires SAT or ACT scores. Southeast Missouri State University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Stephens College and Southeast Missouri State University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1130–1270 at Stephens College and 850–1030 at Southeast Missouri State University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school