Skip to content

Greensboro College vs Mars Hill University

Greensboro College is a private college in Greensboro, NC. Mars Hill University is a private university in Mars Hill, NC. Mars Hill University admits about 68% of applicants and Greensboro College about 70%, making Mars Hill University the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $17,882 a year at Greensboro College after aid, and about $19,910 at Mars Hill University. About 43% of students graduate at both. Ten years after enrolling, Greensboro College alumni earn a median of about $46,566, against $44,781 for Mars Hill University.

Greensboro College

Greensboro, NC · Private

Mars Hill University

Mars Hill, NC · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Greensboro, NC
Mars Hill, NC
Setting
Urban
Rural
Undergraduates
708
1,044
Acceptance rate
70%
68%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.37–3.87
3.38–3.88
SAT (middle 50%)
900–1100
940–1130
ACT (middle 50%)
16–22
18–23
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$17,882
$19,910
Full cost / yr
$35,165
$50,099
In-state tuition
$21,000
$37,736
Out-of-state tuition
$21,000
$37,736
Application fee
$0
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$13,877
$17,021
$30k - $48k
$14,361
$17,020
$48k - $75k
$15,614
$20,628
$75k - $110k
$21,248
$21,637
Over $110k
$27,075
$21,972
Outcomes
Graduation rate
43%
43%
Freshman retention
66%
69%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$36,462
$35,680
Median earnings (10 yr)
$46,566
$44,781
Median debt at graduation
$25,607
$26,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
46%
46%
First-generation students
32%
34%
International students
2%
6%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Greensboro College or Mars Hill University harder to get into?
Mars Hill University is harder to get into. It admits about 68% of applicants, compared with 70% at Greensboro College. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Greensboro College or Mars Hill University?
Greensboro College is cheaper on average. Students pay about $17,882 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $19,910 at Mars Hill University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Greensboro College and Mars Hill University?
Before aid, Greensboro College costs about $35,165 a year and Mars Hill University about $50,099. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Greensboro College or Mars Hill University?
Greensboro College. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $13,877 there, against about $17,021 at Mars Hill University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Greensboro College or Mars Hill University?
Mars Hill University is the larger of the two, with about 1,044 undergraduates against 708 at Greensboro College.
Does Greensboro College or Mars Hill University have a better graduation rate?
Both graduate about 43% of their students.
Do graduates of Greensboro College or Mars Hill University earn more?
Greensboro College alumni earn more on average: a median of about $46,566 ten years after enrolling, against about $44,781 for Mars Hill University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Greensboro College and Mars Hill University require SAT or ACT scores?
Greensboro College is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Mars Hill University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Greensboro College and Mars Hill University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 900–1100 at Greensboro College and 940–1130 at Mars Hill University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school