Skip to content

University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma vs Southwestern Christian University

University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma is a public university in Chickasha, OK, and Southwestern Christian University is a private university in Bethany, OK. Southwestern Christian University is the more selective of the two, admitting about 62% of applicants against 66% at University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma. University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $6,624 a year against $20,146 at Southwestern Christian University. About 41% of students graduate at University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma, compared with 14% at Southwestern Christian University. Ten years after enrolling, University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma alumni earn a median of about $41,913, against $40,391 for Southwestern Christian University.

University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma

Chickasha, OK · Public

Southwestern Christian University

Bethany, OK · Private
At a glance
Type
Public
Private
Location
Chickasha, OK
Bethany, OK
Setting
Suburban
Suburban
Undergraduates
941
377
Acceptance rate
66%
62%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.44–3.94
3.34–3.84
SAT (middle 50%)
1090–1280
900–1085
ACT (middle 50%)
21–26
16–20
Test policy
Considered
Required
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$6,624
$20,146
Full cost / yr
$20,662
$33,305
In-state tuition
$9,000
$21,900
Out-of-state tuition
$20,190
$21,900
Application fee
$40
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$3,493
$18,830
$30k - $48k
$3,548
$16,903
$48k - $75k
$7,223
$18,700
$75k - $110k
$13,352
$22,401
Over $110k
$14,413
$26,620
Outcomes
Graduation rate
41%
14%
Freshman retention
66%
58%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$35,520
$34,574
Median earnings (10 yr)
$41,913
$40,391
Median debt at graduation
$21,750
$20,715
Student body
Pell grant recipients
51%
47%
First-generation students
43%
40%
International students
7%
17%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma or Southwestern Christian University harder to get into?
Southwestern Christian University is harder to get into. It admits about 62% of applicants, compared with 66% at University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma or Southwestern Christian University?
University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma is cheaper on average. Students pay about $6,624 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $20,146 at Southwestern Christian University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma and Southwestern Christian University?
Before aid, University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma costs about $20,662 a year and Southwestern Christian University about $33,305. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma or Southwestern Christian University?
University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $3,493 there, against about $18,830 at Southwestern Christian University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma or Southwestern Christian University?
University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma is the larger of the two, with about 941 undergraduates against 377 at Southwestern Christian University.
Does University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma or Southwestern Christian University have a better graduation rate?
University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma has the higher graduation rate, at about 41% against 14% at Southwestern Christian University.
Do graduates of University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma or Southwestern Christian University earn more?
University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma alumni earn more on average: a median of about $41,913 ten years after enrolling, against about $40,391 for Southwestern Christian University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma and Southwestern Christian University require SAT or ACT scores?
University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them. Southwestern Christian University requires SAT or ACT scores.
What SAT scores do University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma and Southwestern Christian University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1090–1280 at University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma and 900–1085 at Southwestern Christian University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school